New Kids on the Block Announce Still Kids, Their First Album in Over a Decade, and Release the Pop Banger ‘Kids’

ByQuyen Anne

Mar 13, 2024

The boy band will release their follow-up to 2013’s ’10’ on May 17 and then hit the road on the Summer Magic Tour

Blockheads are going to feel like they’re Still Kids this spring.

For the first time in 11 years, New Kids on the Block are releasing an all-new album. The pop icons announced the project, titled Still Kids, on Tuesday and revealed its due out on May 17 via BMG.

To coincide with the exciting announcement, the group featuring Jonathan Knight, Jordan Knight, Joey McIntyre, Donnie Wahlberg and Danny Wood also dropped the lead single from the album, “Kids.”

NKOTB, New Kids on the Block
New Kids on the Block’s ‘Still Kids’ album artwork.BMG

The track, written and produced by David Stewart and Luke Batt, is a euphoric pop banger that finds the hitmakers reflecting on their past and how they’ve retained their youthful energy in the present.

“Jump in the drop-top cause we’re taking it up / Got time on lock and it’s all that we got / We’re free, and we got nowhere to be / And we’re still just kids from a nobody town / Still just kids that are messing around / Making the most of the things that we found whoa,” the vocalists sing on the chorus.

“Kids” is among the 14 tracks on New Kids on the Block’s forthcoming eighth studio album. According to a press release, the LP, which follows 2013’s 10, is full of “pop anthems, dance tracks, love songs and grooves.”

Still Kids is set to feature two collaborations: “Get Down,” which features DJ Jazzy Jeff, and “Old School Love,” a team-up with fellow ‘80s favorite, singer-songwriter Taylor Dayne.

Wahlberg, 54, co-wrote seven songs on the album and served as the project’s creative director, while McIntyre, 51, is also listed as a co-writer on six tracks.

Joey McIntir, Jonathan Knight, Jordan Knight, Donnie Wahlberg, and Danny Wood of New Kids on the Block perform in support of the band's "Mixtape" tour at Golden 1 Center on June 02, 2022 in Sacramento, California.
Joey McIntyre, Jonathan Knight, Jordan Knight, Donnie Wahlberg, and Danny Wood of New Kids on the Block performing on the Mixtape Tour in 2022. 

The two musicians each shared a statement in a release. “It’s the most mature album we’ve ever made,” Wahlberg said. “Yet it’s the most fun and most comfortable album we’ve ever made.”

“This album, more than any other, is bringing the New Kids and the fans full circle,” he continued. “It’s about hope and possibilities and being ourselves.”

McIntyre echoed his sentiment by adding, “It says a lot about any band to make a record that has energy and passion and lightness and fun and depth – after almost 40 years together? It’s crazy.”

NKOTB, New Kids on the Block, Magic Summer Tour 2024
New Kids on the Block’s Magic Summer 2024 Tour poster.BMG

 The “Summertime” group will be touring Still Kids, as well as playing their ‘80s and ‘90s classics, out on the road this summer.

The news of their new album comes several months after the pop band announced they’re setting out on the massive Magic Summer Tour from mid-June to late-August. Set to be a reimagining of their blockbuster 1990 tour of the same name, they’re making it the ultimate nostalgic experience by bringing along special guests Paula Abdul and DJ Jazzy Jeff, 59.

When NKOTB revealed that they tour plans for 2024 in October of last year, Wahlberg shared a statement in a press release. “The true ‘magic’ of this tour is in the music, the moments and the memories that we get to create — and recreate — with our amazing fans each night,” he shared. “Feeling all the nostalgic feels of the original Magic Summer, with the bond that we’ve shared throughout the years, will make for a most magical time indeed.”

Tickets to the “Step by Step” group’s tour are available now and fans can currently pre-save Still Kids.

See the full tracklist for New Kids on the Block’s Still Kids below.

1. Magic

2. Summer Love

3. Long Time Coming

4. Kids

5. A Love Like This

6. Dance with You

7. Come Back

8. In the Night

9. Runaway

10. Pop

11. Get Down (feat. DJ Jazzy Jeff)

12. Old School Love (feat. Taylor Dayne)

13. Better Days

14. Stay


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *